Carson and Meeker Elected to Lead NSP Board, New Directors Appointed

LUBBOCK, Texas (October 1, 2020)—The National Sorghum Producers board of directors recently elected Kody Carson of Olton, Texas, as board chairman and Craig Meeker of Wellington, Kansas, as vice chairman. Dan Atkisson was re-appointed to the board and will transition to the role of past chairman.

“Kody and Craig are strong leaders who will guide our board and industry with intelligence and grit,” Atkisson said. “I look forward to seeing the growth and continued excellence of NSP under their leadership.”

The board also elected new directors Marc Adams of Lubbock, Texas, and Jay Wilder of Snook, Texas, who will serve three-year terms, respectively, beginning Oct. 1.

Adams is the regional vice president for CoBank and serves as an ambassador for an internal program to advance knowledge and understanding of legislative issues that affect Farm Credit and rural America. He is a member of the Texas Agricultural Cooperative Council and also serves on the Texas Grain Sorghum Producers Association board.

Wilder is a diversified crop and livestock producer in Snook, Texas, where he grows sorghum, cotton, wheat and soybeans and raises limousin cattle on a farm that has been in his family since 1912. He has served on many state and national agriculture boards,  including the U.S. Grains Council and as chairman of the Texas Grain Sorghum Association.

“Marc and Jay both bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the board in their respective areas,” said NSP CEO Tim Lust. “We look forward to the contributions they will offer as we confront issues like international trade, the farm economy and other policy initiatives that are important to U.S. sorghum farmers.”

The NSP board of directors also recognized two sorghum industry leaders who ended their terms on the board Sept. 30. Don Bloss of Pawnee City, Nebraska, has served on the board since 2012. He served as chairman from 2016 to 2018 and as past chairman from 2018 to 2020. Larry Dahlsten of Lindsborg, Kansas, has served on the board since 2014.

“We are greatly appreciative of the leadership and guidance Don and Larry have provided through their years of service,” said Atkisson. “Their dedication to improving all aspects of the sorghum industry is evident by their passion and the time they have devoted on behalf of sorghum farmers nationwide and to the betterment of our organization.”

New directors and officers will take their respective positions on the NSP board Oct. 1. Visit to learn more.


National Sorghum Producers represents U.S. sorghum producers and serves as the voice of the sorghum industry coast to coast through legislative and regulatory representation and education. To learn more about NSP, visit