NSP Names 2018 Legislative Committee Members

NSP Names 2018 Legislative Committee Members

LUBBOCK, Texas — National Sorghum Producers board of directors Chairman Don Bloss has appointed five new members to the NSP Legislative Committee. These members include Mike Brooks of Colorado, Devin Schierling of Kansas, Rex Rush of New Mexico, J.B. Stewart of Oklahoma and Samuel Sparks III of Texas.

These producers and 12 existing committee members will serve the sorghum industry, shaping future policy and guiding the organization on legislative matters in accordance with NSP’s mission to lead legislative and regulatory change through effective policy and relationships for a more profitable, diverse and competitive sorghum industry. Their leadership will be of particular importance this year as work to complete the 2018 Farm Bill is carried out.

The 2018 National Sorghum Producers Legislative Committee members are:

Dan Atkisson | Stockton, Kansas – Chairman
Mike Baker | Trenton, Nebraska
Danny Beyer | Odem, Texas
Mike Brooks | Walsh, Colorado
Larry Earnest | Star City, Arkansas
Brittan Gruhlkey | Wildorado, Texas
Matt Heckemeyer | Sikeston, Missouri
John Lowery | Rayville, Louisiana
Rex Rush | McAlister, New Mexico
Lance Russell | Hays, Kansas
Devin Schierling | Moundridge, Kansas
Adam Schindler | Reliance, South Dakota
Jim Sipes | Manter, Kansas
Samuel Sparks III | Mercedes, Texas
J.B. Stewart | Keyes, Oklahoma
John Williams | Enfield, Illinois
Kent Winter | Mount Hope, Kansas

The new committee will have their first meeting Oct. 3, 2017.


NSP represents U.S. sorghum producers and serves as the voice of the sorghum industry coast to coast through legislative representation, regulatory representation and education. To learn more about NSP, visit www.sorghumgrowers.com.

For more information, contact:
Jennifer Blackburn
External Affairs Director
National Sorghum Producers
(806) 749-3478