NSP Names 2016-17 Legislative Committee Members

LUBBOCK, Texas — National Sorghum Producers Chairman Don Bloss appointed six new members to the NSP Legislative Committee: Mike Baker, Nebraska; Lucas Cannon, Oklahoma; Jason Frantz, Texas; Brittan Gruhlkey, Texas; John Lowery, Louisiana; and Jim Sipes, Kansas.

“The sorghum industry needs strong producer voices as discussions on the next farm bill have already started,” said Bloss. “Together the Legislative Committee will work to engage legislative and regulatory authorities under a new presidential administration on the issues most important to sorghum producers.”

The members of the NSP Legislative Committee guide NSP on agricultural policy issues and development in accordance with NSP’s mission to improve the sorghum industry through advocacy and leadership. As NSP Vice-Chairman, Dan Atkisson from Stockton, Kansas, will serve as chairman of the committee. 2016-17 National Sorghum Producers Legislative Committee members include:

Dan Atkisson | Stockton, Kansas – Chairman
Mike Baker | Trenton, Nebraska
Lucas Cannon | Shawnee, Oklahoma
Danny Beyer | Odem, Texas
Larry Earnest | Star City, Arkansas
Jason Frantz | Perryton, Texas
Peter Fleming | Yadkinville, North Carolina
Brittan Gruhlkey | Wildorado, Texas
Matt Heckemeyer | Sikeston, Missouri
Traci Klepac | Robstown, Texas
John Lowery | Rayville, Louisiana
Earl Roemer | Scott City, Kansas
Lance Russell | Hays, Kansas
Burl Scherler | Sheridan Lake, Colorado
Adam Schindler | Reliance, South Dakota
Jim Sipes | Manter, Kansas
John Williams | McLeansboro, Illinois
Kent Winter | Mount Hope, Kansas

The Legislative Committee officially began duties on Oct. 1, 2016, but will have their first in-person meeting on November 16, 2016.

For more information, contact:
Jennifer Blackburn
External Affairs Director
National Sorghum Producers
(806) 749-3478


National Sorghum Producers represents U.S. sorghum producers and serves as the voice of the sorghum industry coast to coast through legislative representation, regulatory representation and education. To learn more about NSP, visit www.sorghumgrowers.com.