Sorghum Foundation Awards Annual Scholarships

For more information, contact:
Jennifer Blackburn
Communications Coordinator
National Sorghum Producers

July 19, 2013

Sorghum Foundation Awards Annual Scholarships

LUBBOCK, Texas — In July, the National Grain Sorghum Foundation awarded two sorghum-specific scholarships to students exemplifying interest and achievement in the sorghum industry.

The 2013 Sorghum Challenge Scholarship recipient is Kassie Curran of Farlington, Kan. Curran is a senior food science and industry major at Kansas State University. This scholarship is awarded to undergraduate students enrolled in an agriculturally-based degree program.

Curran grew up on her family’s farm and said that lifestyle has served as the foundation for her passion for agriculture. She will be awarded a $1000 scholarship and will have the opportunity to attend the NSP D.C. Fly-In in 2014 to learn more about agricultural policy and regulatory agencies.

The Dr. Darrell Rosenow Memorial Scholarship was established in 2010. Rosenow was a pioneer in hybrid sorghum breeding with a career spanning 40 years as a sorghum plant breeder for Texas AgriLife Research. His dedication to sorghum and those that worked with the crop will be remembered through this scholarship, which is awarded to undergraduate students enrolled in agriculturally-based departments related to agronomy, plant pathology, and plant breeding with an emphasis on sorghum.

Morgan Halderson of Delphos, Kan., is the 2013 recipient of the Rosenow Memorial Scholarship. Halderson is a junior agronomy major at Kansas State University.

NSP congratulates both winners for their achievements and wishes them continued success. For more information about the Sorghum Foundation, go to


NSP represents U.S. sorghum producers and serves as the voice of the sorghum industry coast to coast through legislative representation, regulatory representation and education. To learn more about NSP, visit