Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

Press Releases

Dec 13

NSP Announces Annual Yield Contest Winners

NSP Announces Annual Yield Contest Winners LUBBOCK, Texas – National Sorghum Producers is proud to announce the winners of the 2016 NSP Yield Contest. Farmers from 28 states entered to win this year’s contest. Producer yields are highlighted in 10 different categories with this year’s top yield at 208.40 bushels per acre. “The sorghum yield […]


Oct 24

NSP Names 2016-17 Legislative Committee Members

LUBBOCK, Texas — National Sorghum Producers Chairman Don Bloss appointed six new members to the NSP Legislative Committee: Mike Baker, Nebraska; Lucas Cannon, Oklahoma; Jason Frantz, Texas; Brittan Gruhlkey, Texas; John Lowery, Louisiana; and Jim Sipes, Kansas. “The sorghum industry needs strong producer voices as discussions on the next farm bill have already started,” said […]


Sep 16

NSP Hires Jordan Shearer as Executive Director for Colorado, New Mexico and Oklahoma

LUBBOCK, Texas — National Sorghum Producers announces the hire of Jordan Shearer as the executive director for the Colorado, New Mexico and Oklahoma state sorghum organizations. Shearer will begin his new position on Oct. 3, 2016. “Jordan’s experience and affinity for policy will allow him to hit the ground running on day one,” said Tim […]


Sep 15

National Sorghum Foundation and BASF Offer Joint Scholarships

LUBBOCK, Texas — The National Sorghum Foundation and BASF announce a new joint scholarship program for the 2017-2018 school year. “We are excited to offer the next generation of sorghum support for their education–both inside the classroom and out in the industry,” said Tim Lust, National Sorghum Producers CEO. “Partnering with BASF offers these students […]


Aug 4

Students Selected to Receive Sorghum Scholarships

LUBBOCK, Texas — The National Sorghum Foundation has selected four students to receive scholarships for the 2016-2017 school year. “The overall quality of our applicants was impressive, representing 10 universities from eight states,” said Bruce Maunder, National Sorghum Producers research adviser. “This year’s winners embody the hard work and enthusiasm of the sorghum industry.” The […]


Jul 14

NSP Announces Endorsement of Dr. Roger Marshall

LUBBOCK, Texas — National Sorghum Producers announces the organization’s endorsement of Dr. Roger Marshall for the 1st Congressional District of Kansas. “NSP is seeking a partner in government from the largest sorghum-producing Congressional district in the country,” James Born, NSP Chairman, said. “Marshall has demonstrated a willingness to learn and take action during this time […]


Jun 23

Additional Time Granted to Comment on Triazine Registration Review

Growers across the country will have until October 4, 2016, to submit comments regarding the re-registration of Atrazine, Simazine and Propazine. The additional time reflects a 60-day extension of the public comment period by the Environmental Protection Agency following requests by the National Sorghum Producers, other agricultural organizations and House Agriculture Committee Ranking Member Collin […]


Jun 2

Sorghum Growers: EPA Risk Assessment for Atrazine Departs from Science

LUBBOCK, Texas — The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency today released its Draft Triazine Ecological Risk Assessments. The assessment determined the herbicide atrazine poses ecological risk to plants and animals including amphibians, birds, reptiles and mammals, which according to the National Sorghum Producers departs from extensive scientific research proving the safety of atrazine. “National Sorghum Producers […]


May 12

Transform Approved in 10 States to Treat Sugarcane Aphids

LUBBOCK, Texas – Sulfoxaflor, the active ingredient in Transform WG—a Dow AgroSciences product, now has government approval for use in 10 states to treat sugarcane aphids in grain sorghum. Following last month’s approval for use of sulfoxaflor in Texas, sorghum farmers in Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma and Tennessee now have […]


Apr 11

Transform WG Approved to Help Texas Sorghum Farmers Control Sugarcane Aphid

LUBBOCK, Texas — National Sorghum Producers and the Texas Grain Sorghum Association welcome government approval of sulfoxaflor, the active ingredient in Transform WG, for use in grain sorghum by Texas producers this growing season. “The availability of Transform WG is crucial to helping sorghum farmers combat the sugarcane aphid,” Tim Lust, NSP CEO, said. “We […]